I’ll be challenging and quitting next year

New Year 2013Whether we like it or not, the next year is going to come.  Day in or day out, our lives are going to go on and we are going to continue to all live as fulfilling lives as we possibly can.  But as the New Year comes along I would like to ask all of you to do two things…Challenge and Quit.  These two powerful words are going to help us all answer the following question:

What is going to make 2013 THE year?

Challenge:

I’m a big fan of TED talks.  For those of you that are unsure of what that is, it’s conferences that are held around the world inviting thought provoking leaders to come and share innovative ideas that could change the world.  If you have never listened to these two or three minute speeches, I would recommend going to TED.com.

On that note, I was listening to a man named Matt Cutts, an engineer working for Google.  His presentation, titled Try something new for 30 days, explains just that, DO SOMETHING DIFFERENT!!


We all talk about our New Year’s resolutions but how many of us actually stick to it?  Every year millions of gyms hand out all sorts of New Year specials in hopes to bring in all those who think that this will be the year to lose the weight.  So if so many of us invest our time and money into a gym membership, why do so many of us fail?  Because we want instant results!  So this year try a 30 day challenge, take up a new hobby, goal, or activity and see if you can stick with it for just 30 days.  Not only will it get you past the famous 2-week drop off mark, but it will also make the days more memorable!  I already know on my 2013 bucket list I want to take advantage of the National Novel Writing Month come November.  That way by 30 days end, I’ll be able to tell people at any event I’m at:  I’m not just some boring guy who works in insurance, but I’m a writer, a Novelist.

Quit:

How many of us are 100% happy with where we are in life?  How many of us really wake up in the morning and say, “Wow, I cannot believe how perfect my life is, I want nothing more and nothing less.”  Most likely if you are like me, there is always something, even if it’s small, which you want (or what to change).  When I came into my current job a little over a year ago, I was dropped into the deep end of writer Seth Godin’s practice.  He speaks frequently on topics about bettering one’s  life.  One of his most recent works that I read was called The Dip.  It was a perfect time of year to read this short book because it was all about quitting.  Essentially, Seth states that we all quit at some point in life.  And while the famous saying: “Winners never quit and quitters never win,” holds true in many cases, those that won, had to have quit something in order to get where they are today.

English: American entrepreneur, author and pub...

Seth Godin (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Back in college I was first a jock (swimmer), then a frat boy (SAE).  After the conclusion of my junior year’s swim season, I made the motion to quit.  The reason was I wanted to take more time to focus on my fraternity’s philanthropy work.  Growing up I was always a huge advocate for helping children, I was a sports coach, a charity worker, and a mentor to hundreds of kids (Hence my Undie Run this February which you may still donate too).  But to have the best fundraiser our fraternity had to date, I had to quit my athletics and put all of my focus into raising money.  With the help of two other brothers, we surpassed our previous years’ records by close to $2,000.  It was a huge moment for me as I began to head off into the real word being able to know that I can succeed in anything and all I had to do was quit.

So what are you going to quit this year to make 2013 a more fulfilling year.  Is it junk food?  Is it soda?  Maybe it’s even your job in order to transfer into a new career where you’re happier.  Make a change that will make you and your family happier and healthier in these next 365 days.

What will you be quitting and challenging this upcoming year?

+Matt O’Neill

1 Comment

Filed under Personal

One response to “I’ll be challenging and quitting next year

  1. While this is good advise. I don’t like using the term quit. It has such a negative connotation. I would rather say change than use the term quit. Granted I may have to quit something to make the change.

Leave a Reply

