Phantom Friends

So I hope you all had a very wonderful Christmas.  I’m back from a nice little three-day weekend and it’s time to blog once again.  I was creeping around the internet and I came across this article regarding Twitter. Now I know I am representing my company’s face with the online world as that was what I was hired to do, but I do not personally own a twitter.  I think it’s a simpler version of a Facebook and I really do not see the need to own one because I noticed most people who own twitter have their Facebook and Twitter’s linked up. This means unless they have a different following on their Twitter, people just end up reading the same thing twice…which is dumb.  But anyway onto my story, and those of you that are like me, you can relate as long as you have SOME sort of social media site.  There was a man named Noah Kravitz, who was in charge of all his company’s social media sites.  He was a big Twitter…er (Twater?).  His company had a following of over 17,000.  Noah ended up leaving the company on good terms and with him, came his followers. 

Now the company is suing him and requesting that he pay $2.50 for each one of his followers that came from his company website.  This is the first of what will be a very interesting lawsuit as it is going to put a price on each of our heads.  If any of you follow any sort of person, company, or organization, the question is, does your following belong to the company or are you free to go as you please?

Social media was made to connect people in all sorts of forms, interests, geographic locations, commonalities, and so many other criteria.  In my mind if one choses to follow another person or organization, they have that right, and I feel that chosing to is your own right.  What do you think? Do you think that Noah should pay the price for taking a network of strong followers; using, and encourage them to follow himself as well?

This brings up another point that I hear many of my friends talking about.  The “Phantom Friend”.  That person that you have no idea how they found you, who they are, or why they are trying to follow or friend you.  How do you feel when someone you do not even know tries to be a member, friend requests, or will try to follow your social site.  What’s even crazier is when two days later, you realize that he also is now friends with everyone on your friends list!  It has happened to all of us.  Those people who have 2000 + fans and after one day, you realize and know the last 40 people who became friends with him in that 48 hours!  And these are those friends that you KNOW have no relation to him.  It has happened to me multiple times.  Now I am the type of person that wouldn’t accept a friend request from those people who I only have one friend in common with, but I am MUCH more likely to say yes if we have 30 or 40 friends.

What type of person are you?  Do you accept everyone, are you the one who runs through a person’s list of followers, or do you even accept people who you don’t know?  Comment below and let me know your thoughts on the world of the Phantom Friends, or Noah Kravets Twitting issues.

5 Comments

Filed under Personal

5 responses to “Phantom Friends

  1. I am curious to find out what blog platform you are working with? I’m having some minor security issues with my latest site and I’d like to find something more secure. Do you have any suggestions?

  2. Hello to all, how is all, I think every one is getting more from this website, and your views are nice in support of new users.

  3. Normally I don’t read article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, quite nice post.

  4. I am a long time watcher and I just thought I’d stop by and say hello there for that 1st time. I really get pleasure from your posts. Cheers http://www.ctctradeshows.com

  5. URL

    You completed several good points there. I did specific searches on the issue and found many people go in conjunction with along with your blog. 100308

Leave a Reply

