What do I do now?

So to begin I feel it may be appropriate to explain a little about what I do and where I come from.  I grew up in the suburbs just below South Philadelphia.  I have two siblings, one older and one younger, and two loving parents that will, I’m sure, become the topics of many posts.  Today I work as a marketer for a company that sells coaching methods to other people within my boss’s industry.  I do not want to give TO much away because I want to make sure I still have a job at the end of this post!  I love my job, I love my friends and I love my family, I feel that I am very fortunate to have what I have today but I can tell you it has not been easy.  I have grown up as a very tolerant person and feel as though I do not get stressed out very easily by those around me.  This I have found is a very rare attribute but a very resourceful one indeed.  That being said…I have been known to blow my top at some of the most inopportune times.  I also have a very sarcastic sence of humor which, again, has not always been the best blessing in my case.  Just yesterday I offended my co-worker because I told her that the only reason I was able to hear my phone was because I still had young ears.  Bad move.  She held onto that comment and later brought it back up while we were meeting with a client in New York, referencing that she would like to introduce herself first because “Matt has mentioned that I am the older and more frail of the two of us.”  To be fair I have a great office.  We all can joke and play as we wish and we all understand that it is all in good fun.  A happy office is an officent office right?  Well I guess I know to leave the old lady comments at home.

It is coming up on Christmas and I wanted to mention what I am doing.  This weekend is a fun-filled weekend with the family.  Come Monday however, I am back in the office.  Now let me describe what I will be able to get done during this week.  My boss has thus far limited me to pretty much secretarial positions throughout the office; changing PowerPoints, organizing phone lists, sorting contact information, all the types of things I do not want to be doing.  I came on to market; get a product and work year after year to develop it into a lucrative business.  Just yesterday I tried to make some phone calls to some prefered customers and lo and behold I was scolded by my boss because they might have been busy.  Well of course they will be busy, its work, if you can find a time that they are NOT busy I would love to hear about it!  But the point is I can not do anything without my bosses approval unless it is office cleaning.  But my boss wont be here next week.  Do you know what that means?  Lots of blogging and Facebooking.  Oh and if you have not yet noticed I uploaded my Facebook page so you can friend me so please go there.  You will not be disappointed to see some of the content I have up there of my joyful little life.  But I think that is all for now.  Have a wonderful holiday season and I hope you get everything you want either through your eight days, or under your tree (in some cases both…lucky bastards).  See you next week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

